Good Morning Gentlemen,

As my followers on Twitter already know, I won’t be on any social media for the next three months.

But it goes a lot further than that…

I will be performing a 3 month experiment where I cut out all forms of passive entertainment, overhaul my fitness routine, and clean up my diet.  This is not an endeavor for the faint of heart.  Most millennials upon hearing in detail what I will be attempting would run screaming for the hills.  Just goes to show how far we’ve fallen as a society.

I, on the other hand, embrace discomfort and challenges that put my body and mind to the test and so should you.  I am determined to see this through.  In fact, I’m excited.  Ever since this experiment was concocted, I’ve been anticipating the starting day to get this show on the road.  And you, you lucky devils…

You get a front row seat.

The 3 Month Experiment

This little experiment was concocted by a friend of mine during a discussion about passive entertainment and its influence on the individual.  He pondered about how an individual would benefit if he were to drop all passive entertainment for three months all the while cleaning up their diet and working out regularly.

Me being the glutton for punishment that I am, volunteered to be the guinea pig for this little experiment.  We began hashing out the details in Telegram and thus an experiment was born!

We talked about how to best approach this experiment and I wanted to go all in immediately.

No dipping my toes in the water.

No slowly easing into the transition.

I’m going cold turkey on the passive entertainment and waking up at 5:00 AM to go jogging every day.

So what does the 3 month experiment entail?  Well, I can’t give you the exact details (more on that later), but allow me to go over the basics:

  • A reduced calorie diet of 1800 calories will be followed by yours truly every day.  The goal macro split is approximately 60/20/20 (protein, carbs, fat respectively), but my diet for this week runs closer to 50/20/30
  • Cardio every day and strength training 3 times per week on top of my normal martial arts schedule.
  • A gallon of water per day.
  • Lastly, and the crux of this experiment, no passive entertainment.  This includes, but is not limited to:
    • Social media
    • Video games
    • TV

My regimen for this experiment goes well beyond the relatively loose restrictions regarding the passive entertainment, but I can’t be giving away all my secrets yet, can I?

The Test Subject (Me)

Every Monday I will be providing an update covering the last week along with some basic stats to show my viewing audience what benefit this hiatus from the electronics is having on me physically, mentally, and emotionally.

My friend who originally thought of this experiment will be interviewing me weekly to see what areas of this process need to be tweaked.

After some back and forth, we have decided to monitor the following items every week.  This information will also be provided to you, dear reader, every Monday.

  • Weight
  • Activity Level
  • Energy Level
  • Diet
  • Workouts Performed
  • Physical/Mental Well-Being
  • Areas for Improvement

Another item I might occasionally add into the mix is my blood pressure and resting heart rate, but that won’t be consistent; more just to see the general level of improvement as the months go on.

Now that we’ve covered all this, time to move onto my starting stats for the beginning of the experiment.

And before you ask, yes, pics are included.

Age: 31

Height: 6’0″

Weight: 219.2 lbs

me-10-31-2016
Me at the start of the 3 Month Experiment, 10/31/16.

As you can see, I have a little work to do.  Not a terrible starting point, but there’s plenty of room for improvement.  Like most men, I store quite a bit around the belly and from past experience I know this will be the most stubborn part to slim down.

 

Conclusion and Some Exciting News

So there you have it.  The guidelines have been set, I’ve already ran to the bathroom 5 times this morning (that gallon of water thing is going to kill me), and the resentment for my friend is starting to build.  Heh.

What’s the future of this experiment going to hold?  Honestly, I have no idea.  I know that at the very least I will benefit from the more intense fitness regimen and stricter diet, but the mental aspect?  I have my speculations, but we’ll just have to see.

Finally, the exciting news that I hinted about on my Twitter page before my self-imposed exile:  If this 3 month experiment is a roaring success, my friend and I will be co-authoring a book that will be available for purchase!  We are still hammering out all the details, but we are planning to include the following in the full length edition:

  1. The experiment restrictions in its entirety as well as the diet and fitness guidelines.
  2.  A detailed analysis of the benefits of this strict regimen.
  3. How to successfully implement this regimen and what to do when you hit setbacks.
  4. My personal journey, insights, and lessons learned as I complete this experiment myself (humor will most likely be included).
  5. Workout routines to keep things from getting stale.
  6. Some of our favorite recipes to help you reach your calorie/macro requirements.
  7. Your next steps.

I hope you stick with us for the next 3 months as I dive into this experience.  Feel free to ask questions or offer advice in the comments section.

Best Regards,

Gentleman Jak

View the 3 Month Experiment archive here

