Good Morning Gentlemen,

I apologize for the tardiness of this update, but yesterday was a bit too chaotic for me to sit down and type this article out.  So without further ado, let’s dig into what my first week entailed.

Unplanned Obstacles

The week started off great.  My motivation was high and I was determined to stick with the regimen.  Days 1 and 2 started with me getting up at 5:00AM and going for a jog.  I quickly learned my cardio was not up to snuff.  This might be discouraging to some, but I see it as an area I will be experiencing great improvement in soon.  I look forward to when I can effortlessly complete my morning cardio.

By mid-afternoon of Day 2, things started to take a downturn.  I began feeling fatigued and had a bad headache.  I attributed this to the low-carb flu and didn’t really think much more of it…

…Until the chills came later that night.  I either had gotten the flu or was experiencing a nasty sinus infection because I was wiped the next day and wasn’t really up and going full steam until about Saturday.  Top that off with my daughters being sick as well and a job interview yesterday (cross your fingers) and my exercise routine was essentially nonexistent.

That being said, I stayed diligent with my caloric goals, water consumption, and passive entertainment ban.

And I have not been disappointed.

Stronger Circadian Rhythms

The first thing I noticed is I’ve been getting sleepier earlier in the evening.  It’s a strong, deep feeling of exhaustion followed by a more restful night’s sleep.

Without the constant stimulus of the phone and TV in the evening, I’m much more attuned to my body and its needs.  When it’s time for bed, I simply go to bed instead of finishing that last episode of Mythbusters.

I also notice I have less night time snack cravings.  I constantly mention being mindful of what you do, but it bears repeating: Be mindful in all things.

Water Consumption

There’s not much to say here; gallon of water every single day.  Except for the few days I was sick, I have followed this rule pretty well.  A few things I have noticed is the water keeps me from really craving anything.  I might be hungry, but I don’t have an overwhelming desire to eat a ton of chips or a full pizza.  My desire to smoke seems to have even slackened a great deal (I do still smoke though as every man needs a vice or two to enjoy).

A word of caution, however.  Do NOT drink a quarter of your daily water requirements before your commute to work.  I made that mistake on Day 1 and I could barely make it out of my car.

Weight Loss

I dropped about 5 pounds the first two days.  Before any of you guys get excited, that’s pretty normal as water weight tends to shed rapidly on a lower carb diet.  Drinking the gallon of water per day merely hastened the effect.

I didn’t eat much for a day and a half when I caught that bug and my weight dropped even faster.  My friends and I joked that maybe this was the true diet we should be exploring; Flu Fat Loss!

By the end of the first week, I was down to 210.2 lbs.  That’s right gents, 9.0 lbs of weight loss.  I was given a bit of a boost due to the lack of appetite, but I figure since my illness made me miss workout sessions it all evens out.

Next Steps

I am still doing good on the passive entertainment ban, caloric restriction, and water intake, but now I need to get back on track with my exercise.  That’s what is really going to push my weight loss and get me down to my goal weight by the end of this experiment.

For those of you following along, feel free to leave comments or questions regarding the method to my madness and I will be glad to answer.

Best Regards,

Gentleman Jak

View the 3 Month Experiment archive here

