Happy Monday Gentlemen,

Welp, Thanksgiving is over, the Christmas lights are popping up on houses all over the neighborhood, the air has a sharper bite to it, and it’s time for a weekly recap!  Actually, this is a special recap.  Today marks the 1 month recap.  I am now a third of the way through the 3 Month Experiment and boy do I have some news for you!

Tactical Analysis for Surviving Thanksgiving

So my plan for surviving Thanksgiving that I outlined last week had some successes and shortcomings.

I didn’t closely measure the carb count but I can almost guarantee that I went over the 70g limit.  I also didn’t do as much strength training as I would have liked.  The kids kept me on my toes during the break so it was tough to focus on much else.

That being said, I did make time to go on several hikes.  I believe this is what saved me during the Thanksgiving break (it certainly wasn’t the homemade cheesecakes).  Between Thursday and Saturday, I probably clocked in over 12 miles of walking.  That’s approximately 1500 calories burned, a nice buffer for a little gluttonous eating.

I also made sure to pile on the turkey and ham with every meal so I would fill up on high protein foods and be less likely to overindulge on the starchier options.

Finally, I drank a ton of water.  Not even joking, I drank so much water that even the occasional sip made me cringe.

Weigh-Ins

Fortunately, my diligence paid off and I weighed in this morning at 201.6 lbs.  You heard me correctly, I lost 5.2 pounds over Thanksgiving break!  I was honestly so stunned that I weighed myself a few times thinking it had to be a mistake, but no, the scale always went back to 201.  I’m still not quite sure how I managed to make such a drastic change in my weight, but I’m not complaining.

week-4
Stomach is a little bloated in this pic.  I expect that to go down soon as my diet goes back to normal.

 

Next Steps

As I round the corner on 200 lbs, I want to begin upping the amount of strength training I’m doing.  I’d really like to start building up some muscle on my upper body and begin creating a strong foundation for Phase 2 (to be announced in the future).  That means copious amounts of push-ups, pull-ups, planks, and squats.

Now that I’m at the cusp of reaching my first milestone of getting under 200 lbs, I’m setting my sights now on getting under 190 lbs.  I believe we’ll really begin to see some drastic changes take place once I get there.

Stay tuned.

Best Regards,

Gentleman Jak

