Gentlemen,

I have a confession I need to lay out in the open…

It sucks being average.

Have you looked at the average American lately?  They’re unhappy, overweight, work dead-end jobs, are in massive debt, and have absolutely no plans on fixing any of those issues.  Honestly, why the hell would you want to be average?

In fact, why would you settle for merely above average?  I want outstanding! I want to be a 1%’er and so should you.

I’m not specifically talking about finances here either, although they do factor into this conversation.  I’m talking about be outstanding in all areas of life:

  • Fitness
  • Finances
  • Relationships
  • Recreational Activities
  • Intelligence

This might sound like an overwhelming undertaking, but I have two little secrets that will make the journey much easier and far less painful.

Watch what the Average Joe Does…

And then DON’T do that!  Yes, it’s really that simple.  Would you take nutrition advice from someone who is morbidly obese?  Of course not, so why would you take financial advice from someone who is poor or relationship advice from a basement dwelling omega?

It’d be beyond foolish, yet people do exactly this every single day.  Women seem to be especially susceptible to this phenomenon when it’s in regards to taking relationship advice from their single (read: bitter) or divorced (read: bitter) female friends.

Before taking anyone’s advice, take a step back, assess if this person has their shit together, and are practicing what they preach.  If not, run away.  Run away fast.

Just Do It!

Yes, I’m channeling Shia Labeouf on this piece of advice.  The biggest component to rising above the churls is to actually get off your butt and begin working.

To illustrate this concept, I’m going to use a real life example from my own life.  I train in a few different martial arts, but have my foundation placed solidly in Taekwondo in which I’ve been training in for over 17 years now and have achieved the rank of 5th degree black belt.  According to this site, only 3-5% of martial artists go on to earn the rank of black belt. I’m going to be generous and use the 18.1 million people estimate on this site and label them all as martial artists for the sake of this illustration.

5% of 5.6% of the USA population means that out of the entire US population, only 0.28% of the people are a black belt in some martial art and I can attest to the fact that those numbers drop pretty fast when you start getting even higher in rank.  It’s rare to see many black belts above 4th degree unless they’re the owner of a school.

So there you have it!  Through sheer doggedness, I have earned a place in an elite minority of people.  How did I do this?  By simply getting off my rump and sticking to it.  If I fell down (which I often did, typically due to a kick to the face), I got back up and kept going.

Find what you want to excel in and apply the same doggedness to it:

  • Want to be wealthier than the 99%?  Stop keeping up with the Joneses (hint, they’re up to their ass cracks in debt) and sock away as much of your paycheck as you can each day.
  • Want to be smarter than the 99%?  Read books every day.
  • Want to be more productive than the 99%? Quit hitting the snooze button.

Those that do shall reap the rewards while those who lounge around will always be left wanting.  Being in the 1% is your choice.  It all depends on how hard you are willing to work for it.

In closing, I will leave you with a quote.  Read the quote and scroll back to the top picture.   Are those people winners or are they whiners?

What about you?

quote-the-man-who-wins-is-the-average-man-not-built-on-any-particular-plan-not-blessed-with-any-conrad-hilton-344273

Regards,

Gentleman Jak

